“A great book about life in the early settlers days in New Zealand. A treasure of ‘how things are made’… a vivid picture of the hardship and good times of these old days…” Isabelle, 5 star rating, GoodReads 

Originally published in the 1980s, Phyllis Johnston’s iconic New Zealand pioneering books are a rare glimpse into pioneer life, seen through the eyes of May Tarrant and her brothers. Likened by readers to Laura Ingalls Wilders’ ‘Little House’ books, the series starts with May and her brothers in the early 1900s and covers 50 years of New Zealand history. The series is a unique record taking a character from early childhood through to adulthood and girls, boys and adults are still entranced by the stories of May and her brothers growing up in the 1900s.

The final book of the series, ‘The Fortunate Ones,’ completes the story of May, Wally and their children. This is a previously unpublished manuscript, published for the first time in October 2018.

The full  series is a wonderful social history of New Zealand from the early 1900s until the end of World War 2.

The May Series
Book One         No one went to town, reprinted 2017
Book Two         Black Boots and Buttonhooks, reprinted 2017
Book Three       A Comet in the Sky, reprinted 2017
Book Four         No Lily-livered Girl, reprinted 2018
Book Five         The Fortunate Ones, published 2018

These new editions are faithful to the original, with the same cover art and illustrations. They are softcover, professionally printed and all have ISBN numbers. They are available for $24 a copy. Wholesale rates are available for booksellers (minimums apply).